## By Dave Eckard

The Kettering Model Sailing Club (KMSC) (AMYA Club # 237) hosted the 2014 V-32 National Championship Regatta on August 16, 2014 at Delco Park in Kettering, Ohio. The regatta was a one day event. Ten (10) V-32 skippers participated in the regatta under the direction of John Emery, whose home club is the nearby Miami Valley Model Yacht Club (AMYA Club # 73).

August in the Ohio Miami valley is typically hot and calm with very low winds. There are exceptions and August 16<sup>th</sup> was the exception, the wind was 5 mph with 10 mph gusts and shifting throughout the day and temperature in the low 70°s. We were able to complete 22 races before a rain storm forced the event to stop. Scoring was done using the Low Point System with 1 throw-out for every 5 races.

John Emery changed the course regularly to try to keep pace with the changing wind direction and did an excellent job with course selection and in keeping the regatta moving smoothly. Six different skippers each took the checkered flag at least once during the 22 race regatta. In the end, Russell Hardie, Jerry Callahan and Rob Hill finished as the top three. The KMSC awarded wooden plaques to the top five finishers and AMYA gold chevrons to the top three finishers. In addition to the plaques, a drawing for a V32 kit donated by Ruby Dornis, Victor Model Products, and gift certificates from Brian Brozak, Midwest Model Yachting, was done.

All boats were Victor-built or kits from Victor. The sails and sail reinforcements on some boats were done by Scott Rowland of Windjammin Sails as per the class rules.

## **Summary**

Event: 2014 V-32 National Championship Regatta

Class: V-32

Date: August 16, 2014

Location: Delco Park, Kettering Ohio

Host Club: Kettering Model Sailing Club (#237)

Entries: 10

Winds: Generally SW 5-10 mph

Races Completed: 22

Scoring System: Low Point, single fleet (4 throw-outs)

Race Director: John Emery

## 2014 V-32 National Championship Regatta Results

Place	Skipper	Points (after throw-outs)
1	Russell Hardie	38
2	Jerry Callaway	48
3	Rob Hill	56
4	Ralph Kanko	58
5	Mark Camden	64
6	Dan Minnix	97
7	Gene Wisner	99
8	Dave Eckard	127
9	Jose' Garcia	135
10	Steve Pratt	166