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Mark-Room Definition

• MarkRoom = Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then 
room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, 
mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is 
overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat 
required to give mark-room.  (Official Definition)



Wind

3

4 boat lengths

Windward Mark Case I

• Green establishes overlap when first boat 
reaches zone (Position 1) and Red must give 
“Mark-Room” to Green – RRS Rule 18.2(b).

– MarkRoom = Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then 
room to sail her proper course while at the mark. 
However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless 
the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of 
the boat required to give mark-room.  (Official Definition)

• Green is the overlapped windward boat and 
gets room to tack as she rounds (as part of 
Mark-Room).

• Even if the overlap gets broken (if Red pulls 
ahead), Green still gets Mark-Room.  If Red pulls 
so far ahead that she can round ahead of Green 
without getting in Green’s way, that is OK.

• Red usually must wait for Green to tack before 
tacking herself to avoid hitting Green.  

• Note Green only gets Mark-Room and nothing 
more, as Red is still the leeward right-of-way 
boat.  If Red thinks Green has taken “too much” 
room, Red can protest but must not hit or tack 
into Green.   Red must “take her medicine” and 
sail the outside course with plenty of space for 
Green.

• This could be a finish mark and apply the same 
(but not a start mark).

Windward mark, boats on same tack, and overlapped at the zone
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Windward Mark Case II

• Red is “Clear Ahead” when she reaches the zone 
(Position 1) and Green must give “Mark-Room” 
to Red – Rule 18.2(b)

– MarkRoom = Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then 
room to sail her proper course while at the mark. 
However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless 
the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of 
the boat required to give mark-room.  (Official Definition)

• Since Red is NOT the overlapped windward boat 
she is not entitled to room to tack as she 
rounds.  Only if Red can pull off the tack 
sufficiently ahead of Green so as to allow Green 
the time and space to keep clear may she tack 
onto starboard here.

• Red may try to sail to the mark from (1) (pinch 
and even luff) and can try to push Green to the 
wrong side of the mark if she can.  

• Green is taking a risk sneaking in here.  Safer for 
Green to slow and pull in behind Red if you 
think Red may be far enough ahead to tack onto 
starboard in time or able to head to the mark 
(pinch) and squeeze you out.

• As shown with Green so close to Red and Red 
unable to sail to the mark, Red would need to 
wait for Green to tack before she tacks.  You 
want to approach the mark on the lay line to 
take advantage of “Mark-Room”

NO!

Windward mark, boats on same tack, clear ahead at the zone
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Windward Mark Case III

• Mark Room does not apply in several situations 
according to Rule 18.1.

• One such common situation is between boats on 

opposite tacks on a beat to windward –Rule 

18.1(a).

• Because the boats are on opposite tacks here 
approaching the zone, it is like the mark is not 
there and Rule 10 (On Opposite Tacks) applies.

• As the starboard-tack boat, Red has right-of way.  
Green must keep clear.

• The is a dangerous place for Green if a long 
parade of starboard tack boats is approaching on 
the lay line behind Red.

• Green must wait for an opening in the line of 
starboard boats and has no rights when tacking 
onto starboard to get in line or to round the mark.

• If Green tacks in the zone to get in line, she must 
not make any approaching starboard tack boat 
head higher than close hauled to avoid her and 
must give mark room to any of these non-tacking 
starboard boats mark room if they get an inside 
overlap at any time before the mark – Rule 18.3.

Windward mark, boats on opposite tack
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Windward Mark Case IV
• According to Rule 18.2(e), if an inside boat creates an overlap 

from clear astern and the outside boat has been unable to give 
Mark-Room  from the time the overlap began, the outside boat 
is not required to give it.  Note the overlap mentioned could 
begin well before the zone.

• In our example, assume that Green created the overlap with Red 
just before Position (1).  Red cannot give room at (1), (2), or (3) 
because Yellow is in the way.  Thus, Red is not required to give 
room in this case (unless Yellow were to make room for Red).  

• However, Green and Yellow are also overlapped because Red, 
between them, overlaps both (see definition of overlap).  Thus, 
Yellow is required to give Mark-Room to Green (and Red) and 
Yellow can give room by heading off away from the mark.

• Thus, if yellow does not give enough room for BOTH Red and 
Green, Yellow can be successfully protested (an unhappy Green 
will probably follow through on that).

• Thus, when a cluster of overlapped boats approaches a mark, an 
outside boat usually MUST provide enough room for all 
overlapped inside boats.  The outermost boat must be 
especially careful and will likely take the fall in a protest. 

• Note that Red would not be off the hook with regard to Mark-
Room to Green if Green’s overlap occurred before Yellow was 
blocking Red in, even if that was well before the zone.  That 
would be an example of where Red might want to start making 
Mark-Room, if Red can, well before the zone.  This way Red 
would be sure to avoid getting stuck with no room to give at the 
zone when not exonerated by 18.2(e) if there was room after 
the overlap with Green and before the zone.

No room to give!
Try not to be the outermost boat!  If you are, be 
a good sport and take your medicine and give the 
prescribed room to everyone inside!  Don’t 
create a pile-up.  Keep the respect of your fellow 
sailors and make it up on the next leg.

Yellow is in the 
wrong here!
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Leeward Mark

• Even though the boats are on opposite tacks 
here, Mark-Room applies because it is a 
leeward mark (they are not on a beat to 
windward and no one's proper course is to 
tack at the mark) – Rule 18.1, 18.2.  

• This could be a finish mark and apply the same 
(but not a start mark).

• Green is overlapped when the first boat (Red) 
enters the zone (at Position 2).

• Red (even though on starboard) must give 
Green (on Port) Mark-Room here – Rule 
18.2(b).  Green has the right to room to gybe
around the mark sailing her proper course.

• Green must sail no farther from the mark than 
needed to sail her proper course – Rule 18.4 
(does not apply for Gate mark).  Proper course 
is her best course if Red were not there.  Note 
Red is still the right-of-way boat, but with an 
obligation to provide Mark-Room and nothing 
more.

• After leaving the mark astern, Red will be 
leeward retain the right-of way boat.

Opposite tacks

Port
Tack

Starboard 
Tack



Other Mark-Room Facts
• Mark-Room does not apply to boats on opposite tacks at a windward mark.

• Mark-Room does apply even to boats on opposite tacks at a leeward (downwind) mark.

• Mark -Room stops applying if EITHER boat passes head to wind before the mark.

• Mark-Room does not apply at a starting mark.  Trying to squeeze in as the windward boat as 
if you had mark room is referred to as barging.  DO NOT BARGE!  

– Yes, this makes start line tactics very interesting for those who play by the rules!  Leeward boats can 
push windward boats over the line early or to the wrong side of a start mark (assuming the 
windward boats keep clear and don’t barge).   On the other hand windward boats tend to steal the 
air from leeward boats and may have the most favored position at the line if they don’t get pushed 
over – this makes it interesting!

– If you barge and get away with it, you can get the favored air & the position unfairly.  The leeward 
boat’s only defense is to try to push windward (potentially barging) boat over the line early or to the 
wrong side of the mark.  If the windward boat jams in between the mark and the leeward boat 
(barging), that is a ridiculously unfair advantage if not protested.

– If you are windward and at the line too early, a leeward boat can push you over early by coming up 
under you and heading up (since they are the right of way boat – Rule 11).  If the windward boat 
does not come up (and cross the line early) and keeps reaching down the line so the leeward boat 
hits them, this is also a kind of barging on the windward boat’s part.  

– Windward boats must yield to leeward boats, even if that means they go to the wrong side of the 
start mark or go over the line early.  The trick is to get to the line so that you don’t have a leeward 
boat on your side that can push you over early.



Other Mark-Room Facts
• Mark-Room does apply at finish marks.  This is sometimes forgotten in the heat of the critical 

finishing moments.

• Note that Mark Room does not totally negate the other right of way  rules (they work 
simultaneously).  

– You may be the right-of-way boat but need to give mark room to someone else.   For 
example, perhaps you are the right-of-way leeward and you need to give Mark-Room to 
a windward boat.  In that case you do not need to give up any more than Mark-Room 
prescribes to that windward boat.  That is, don’t let that boat take a extra wide tactical 
rounding without protest.

– If you are the right-of-way boat with luffing rights (the right to sail above your proper 
course) and do not owe mark room to anyone, you may sail past the mark (preventing a 
windward boat from rounding), even if it causes great strife to other boat.    This is 
sometimes done to gain tactical advantage.  However, not everyone is expecting this 
move, so a verbal warning is recommended.

• Note: you have “luffing” rights if you are overlapped with and leeward of another boat and the overlap was 
created by the other boat coming from clear astern (overtaking you from behind).  If you are the leeward boat 
passing a windward boat, you have NO luffing rights and must sail a proper course.  Think of “luffing rights” as a 
purely defensive weapon that may only be used to defend against a passing windward boat.  It may not be used 
offensively when you are passing a windward boat.

– If you are not the right of way boat but are entitled to Mark-Room, you only get room to 
sail to the mark, and then room to sail your proper course while at the mark – and 
nothing more (as the definition of Mark Room prescribes). 


