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Mark-Room Definition

• MarkRoom = Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then 
room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, 
mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is 
overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat 
required to give mark-room.  (Official Definition)



3
4 boat lengths

Missed Mark Case I

• Red is “Clear Ahead” when she reaches the zone at 
Position (1) and Green must give “Mark-Room” to Red –
Rule 18.2(b)

• Red tacks inside the zone thinking she has cleared the 
mark (1 to 2).  When you tack inside the zone (other 
than to round the mark when you are the inside 
overlapped boat) you loose Mark-Room rights – Rule 
18.2(c).   In fact, if either boats pass head to wind, 
Mark-Room ceases to apply.

• So after the tack neither boat has Mark-Room and the 
other rules take over (Rule 10 Port-Starboard, Rule 11 
Windward-Leeward, Rule 12 Clear Ahead, Rule 13 
While Tacking, etc).

• Red now tacks or gybes back to go for the mark (2 to 3).  
She must be clear of Green when doing so.

• Since Green is leeward of Red at (3), Green has the 
right-of-way (Rule 11).  Since Red has no Mark-Room it 
is like she is barging at the start (same situation when 
you have no mark room and try to squeeze in as the 
keep-clear windward boat).

• Red must keep clear of Green at Position 3.  Red needs 
to go behind Green here or go to the wrong side of the 
Mark.

• Red might be smart to gybe from 2 to 3 and swing in 
behind Green.

• What if a long line of boats were packing in behind 
Green?  Big trouble for Red!!  Red needs to keep clear 
of all these leeward boats until she finds an opening to 
squeeze into. I think she can also choose to exit the zone 
and reenter with fresh rights.

Tacking windward mark

Wind



Wind

4 boat lengths

• Red is “Clear Ahead” when she reaches the zone (1) 
and Green must give “Mark-Room” to Red – Rule 
18.2(b)

• Red bears off thinking she cleared the mark (1 to 2).  
• Now Red tacks (or gybes) back onto starboard (2 to 3) 

when she realized she missed the mark.  When you 
tack inside the zone (other than to round the mark 
when you are the inside overlapped boat) you loose 
Mark-Room rights.  

• So after the tack (2 to 3) neither boat has Mark-Room 
and the other rules take over (Rule 10 Port-Starboard, 
Rule 11 Windward-Leeward, Rule 12 Clear Ahead, 
Rule 13 While Tacking, etc).

• If Red tacks sufficiently ahead of Green (2 to 3) to 
give Green the time and space to keep clear after the 
tack, then Red becomes the right-of-way boat at (3) 
(Rules 10 and 15).

• However, Red has no rights WHILE tacking (2 to 3) 
(Rule 13) and may not tack on top of Green (2 to 3) if 
Green does not have time to find a way to keep clear 
(Rule 15).

• At (3) Red is now the starboard right-of-way boat.
• However, Red is the keep clear boat WHILE tacking 

back to Port to round the mark (3 to 4).    If she can’t 
pull that off because Green is too close, she needs to 
keep sailing (3) and then tack clear of Green.  She 
could slow, staying on starboard (3), and force Green 
to tack first, and then she can go.

Bearing off windward mark

•Note that at Position 4 Red has one more 
problem, she must not cause Green to sail higher 
than close hauled to avoid her and must give 
Green Mark-Room if she gets inside position –
Rule 18.3.

Missed Mark Case II



Wind

4 boat lengths

Missed Mark Case III

• Red is “Clear Ahead” when she reaches the zone at (1) and 
Green must give “Mark-Room” to Red – Rule 18.2(b)

• Red heads up thinking she has cleared the mark (2).  

• Now Red tacks onto Port (2 to 3) when she realized she missed 
the mark.  When you tack inside the zone (other than to round 
the mark when you are the inside overlapped boat) you loose 
Mark-Room rights.  

• So after the tack (2 to 3) neither boat has Mark-Room and the 
other rules take over (Rule 10 Port-Starboard, Rule 11 
Windward-Leeward, Rule 12 Clear Ahead, Rule 13 While 
Tacking, etc).

• Red at (3) and (4) is on a port tack and Green remains on 
starboard.  Thus, Green is the right of way boat and Red needs 
to keep clear (Rule 10).

• Even if Red gybes after (4) to get on Starboard, if she is still 
windward of Green, and Green (leeward) can push Red to the 
wrong side of the mark.

• Red needs to simply go behind Green at this point.

• If there is a long line of boats behind Green, Red is in trouble!  
In this case, I think Red needs to find a hole in the line to gybe
into, or cross and pass through the line (move left to right in 
the picture).  She may then gybe to become the Leeward, 
Starboard tack boat.  However by 18.3(b), I think Red still 
needs to give Green Room, so Red must sail around the 
outside.    

• I believe Red can also choose to exit the zone and then reenter 
with fresh rights.  At this point Red would basically reset the 
potential for Mark Room for subsequent boats entering at that 
time. 

Leeward mark, starboard approach



Wind
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• Red is “Clear Ahead” when she reaches the 
zone (1) and Green must give “Mark-Room” to 
Red – Rule 18.2(b)

• Red gybes thinking she has cleared the mark (1 
to 2).  

• Now Red Gybes or tacks back onto Port (2 to 3) 
after she realized she missed the mark.   I 
believe Red has lost Mark Room rights (as she 
was not entitled to these extra maneuvers as 
part of the Mark Room definition, certainly 
tacking causes you to loose mark room ).

• However, Red is still the leeward overlapped 
boat at (4) and is the right of way boat.  So 
Green needs to keep clear.  

• Red must sail a proper course (no father from 
the mark than necessary) until she gybes
rounding the mark after (4).  (This is not true 
for a gate mark) – Rule 18.4.

Leeward mark, port approach

If Green gybes onto starboard between 3 and 4 
sufficiently ahead of Red for Red to keep clear, Green 
would successfully acquire right of way at 4.

Missed Mark Case IV


