2015 V-32 NCR Report

By Ralph Kanko

The 2015 V-32 David Kovacs Memorial NCR was held at Delco Park, Kettering, OH, on August 14, 2015. It was hosted by the Kettering Model Sailing Club, AMYA Club #237. This one-day event started out with almost no wind and reached maybe four mph a few times during the regatta. There were many races with several minutes of drifting on glassy waters. Twelve V-32s competed in one fleet. Scott Rowland and Rob Hill often led the fleet but several other skippers challenged them and took some first place finishes as well. Mike Wyatt, AMYA Region 4 Director, did an excellent job as RD, setting up courses to match the conditions, and by 3:00 PM we had completed 24 races. That was enough! As we finished the awards ceremony and door prize drawing, the wind picked up, and five minutes later there was a heavy rain that made us all happy we were not in the middle of a race. Special thanks to Mike Wyatt who drove all the way from northeast Ohio to RD this event. Thank you to Victor Model Products for donating the V-32 kit which Dave Eckard won in a drawing.

The 12th place skipper had radio problems that prevented him from racing. During one race the two lead boats got hung up on the anchor line of a mark because it had drifted in the low wind. All the other boats passed by before they were freed. During another race a mast came down due to a collision, and an RC tugboat made a quick rescue.

Summary of 2105 V-32 NCR

Class: V-32

Date: August 14, 2014

Location: Delco Park, Kettering, OH

Host Club: Kettering Model Sailing Club #237

of Entries: 12

Winds: 0 to 4 mph, but mostly 2 mph

Races Completed: 24 Scoring System: Low Point

Regatta Committee: Steve Pratt, Chairman & food; Mike Wyatt, RD; Scott Eckard, Scorekeeper &

Photographer; Dave Eckard, Registration; Bill Buschor, Award Plaques.

Results of 2105 V-32 NCR

Place	Skipper	Sail	Points
1	Scott Rowland	17	43
2	Rob Hill	08	45
3	Bob Bottenhorn	32	64
4	Ralph Kanko	46	78
5	Russell Hardie	04	85
6	John Emery	86	87
7	Dan Minnix	28	123
8	Jose Garcia	66	129
9	Dave Eckard	96	157
10	Bill Buschor	68	178
11	Steve Pratt	60	191
12	Bill Koch	12	DNC